Four Suspects in Custody After Pawn Shop Robbery, Double Homicide
Central Florida neighborhoods were on lockdown last month after hundreds of officers accompanied by SWAT teams were on a manhunt for armed and dangerous men suspected of armed robbery, a high-speed chase and a double-murder, according to a recent ABC News Report. The two victims, a mother and her adult-aged daughter, were killed as a result of a home invasion by one of the suspects fleeing from law enforcement. If you or someone you know has been charged with a violent crime offense, contact an experienced Florida violent crime defense attorney today.
According to the Federal Bureau of Investigations’ (FBI) Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program, violent crimes are categorized under four offenses: murder and non-negligent manslaughter, robbery, aggravated assault and forcible rape. These crimes are defined by the UCR as offenses that involve force or threat of force. Florida law similarly classifies these aforementioned offenses. State law mandates that a person with a little as one prior conviction of a violent felony be classified as a “habitual felony offender” and be subject to harsher punishment should a future arrest occur. Because Florida enhances penalties or mandatory minimum sentences for those classified as habitual felony offenders, violent career criminals, or three-time violent felony offenders, it’s imperative to properly defend a violent crime charge.
Violent crimes for which an accused may be charged in Florida include, but are not limited to:
- Rape and sexual assault;
- Domestic violence;
- Assault and battery;
- Negligent homicide;
- Firearm Offense; and
- Felony weapons charge.
Possible Violent Crimes Penalties
Under Florida Statutes 775.082 and 775.083, the punishments listed for violent crime offenses are the statutory minimum, and variations on sentencing and fines depend on many factors. These may include the type of offense, the victim (including age), where the violent act occurred, if a weapon was used during its commission, and whether the offender has prior criminal convictions. Examples of penalties and fines for convictions of misdemeanor or felony violent crimes are:
- First-degree misdemeanor – jail sentence up to 60 days and/or a fine up to $500.
- Second-degree misdemeanor – jail sentence up to one year and/or a fine of no more than $1,000.
- First-degree felony – prison sentence of up to 30 years or life and/or a fine of no more than $10,000.
- Second-degree felony – prison sentence of up to 15 years and/or a fine of no more than $10,000.
- Third-degree felony – prison sentence of up to five years and/or a fine of no more than $5,000.
Florida Violent Crime Defense
A violent crime charge is a serious offense, and defending one can be complicated as severe penalties and fines are at stake. If you or someone you know has been charged with a violent offense, or any other type of criminal act, reach out to an experienced and aggressive Florida violent crime defense attorney. Carl H. Lida understands the several defenses available to a client, has years of trial and appellate experience, and can fight on your behalf. Contact the law office of today for advice and assistance with your case at (954) 472-5001.